How do I attend a Parole or Revocation Hearing?
Each individual institution has their own rules and regulations regarding visitors/victims attending hearings. You need to contact the Re-Entry Coordinator at each individual institution and/or contact the office assistant at the Division of Corrections and Rehabiliation that handles that particular institution.I am a crime victim, what do I need to do to be notified of the hearings?
Crime Victims can register with the Division of Corrections and Rehabiliation VINE, at 1-866-984-8463 which will notify the crime victims or any and all movements, hearings, discharges. The crime victim should also notify the West Virginia Parole Board, in writing, that they wish to be notified of all hearings.I am a crime victim and I wish to be notified when a certain inmate is released. Whom do I contact and how?
Crime Victims can register with the Division of Corrections and Rehabiliation 1-866-984-8463 which will provide the release information. The Crime Victim should also notify, the West Virginia Parole Board, in writing that you wish to be notified when the inmate is released.How do I apply for Executive Clemency?
Anyone eligible to apply for Executive Clemency should contact the Governor's Office at 304-558-2000 and request an Executive Clemency Application.Does the Parole Board grant parole from the Regional Jails?
The Parole Board holds monthly hearings at the Regional Jails. The inmates have to be eligible for a parole hearing, have an approved home plan and all the documentation as required by law. However, if an inmate is granted parole from the Regional Jail, the inmate has to be transferred to a Division of Corrections and Rehabiliation's Facility soon after for intake and fingerprinting before they can actually be released on parole. Should an inmate be granted parole from a Regional Jail, you should anticipate seven to ten days before the inmate is released.I have been on parole for a year, why am I not discharged?
Being on parole for a year does not guarantee an automatic discharge. A parolee is eligible for discharge after completing successfully one year of supervision. (There is a five year minimum time for Life Sentences.) The Parole Board will not consider a parolee for discharge until they receive a progress/status report from the Parole Officer supervising the parolee.How do I get a transcript of the hearing?
Transcripts of hearings are only provided by Court Order. However, a copy of audio recordings are available for the inmate/parolee and/or their representative by request, in writing, for a fee of $20.00. Check or Money Orders are accepted and it must be made out to the WV Parole Board. Please allow 6-8 weeks for processing. It may take longer if requesting mulitple hearings or hearings that are more than one year old.My relative has a write-up. Why won't he/she be seen by the Parole Board?
The Parole Board will hold a parole hearing for an inmate if he/she has a write-up prior to the scheduled hearing. However, we will not hold the hearing if the inmate is currently in punitive segregation as a result of the write-up.Can you transfer my relative to a correctional facility that is closer to my home?
Inmate transfers and movement are dictated by the Division of Corrections and Rehabilitation (DCR) and any questions regarding transfers and movement should be addressed to DCR.What is the minimum discharge date?
The minimum discharge date is the date the inmate can expect to be released from the Division of Corrections and Rehabilitation custody if they are not released on parole, escaped or lost good time.How is the inmate's time calculated?
An inmate's time is based on the Sentencing/Commitment Orders from the Sentencing Judge. If you believe that there are errors, please contact the attorney and/or the Circuit Clerk of the Sentencing Court. Your name will be entered as it appears on your Court Order. The Parole Board cannot make any changes regarding timesheets. Any questions regarding timesheets should be directed to the Institutional Records Clerk or the Department of Corrections Records.What is PED?
Your PED is the date the inmate is eligible for parole consideration. This does not mean that the inmate will be interviewed on that date. Hearings are held once a month at each institution for inmates that are eligible that month.Who do I contact regarding timesheets and minimum discharge dates?
If the inmate has any questions regarding the timesheets and/or minimum discharge dates, he/she should contact the Division of Corrections and Rehabilitation. The Parole Board should not be contacted for these issues.Who do I contact about Classification, Movement and in-state Home Plans?
If an inmate has questions regarding Classification or Movement, they should contact Kem Hudson, Movement Coordinator at the Division of Corrections of Rehabilitation. In-State homes plans start with the Re-Entry Coordinator. Any questions about home plan requirements or when a plan will be investigated need to be addressed by Parole Services. The Parole Board should not be contacted for these issues.Who do I contact about Out-Of-State Home Plans?
The Parole Board holds monthly hearings at the Regional Jails. The inmates have to be eligible for a parole hearing, have an approved home plan, and all the documentation as required by law.How do I contact Parole Services and the Parole Officer?
Parole Services and the Parole Officers supervising the inmates are employees of the Division of Corrections and Rehabilitation and not a part of the Parole Board. You should contact the Parole Officers and Parole Services at the West Virginia Division of Corrections and Rehabilitation.What rehabilitative programs and classes do you offer?
The Parole Board does not offer any rehabilitative programs. The Division of Corrections and Rehabilitation set up all the rehabilitative programs offered and makes recommendation to the inmate in an IRPP. However, the Parole Board will recommend programming that is offered at each individual facility.How do I assist someone in getting released to parole?
An individual can assist an inmate getting paroled by attending hearings, providing positive community sentiment, assisting an inmate in lining up employment, follow-up treatment and assisting him in providing to the Parole Board documentation of his follow-up plans.How does the Parole Board make the decision to grant or deny parole?
The Parole Board in considering an inmate for parole takes in consideration the circumstances of the crime, his prior convictions, his institutional conduct, his participation in the institutional programming, whether or not the inmate has been successful previously on parole, probation, home confinement and bond, the sentiment of the community and the official sentiment, the demeanor of the inmate during the interview, and the results of any physical, mental or psychiatric examinations and if the inmate has a solid aftercare plan and/or plans for future employment. The Parole Board will consider the positive and the negative factors in all areas and will not confine its determination to any particular area to the exclusion of the others.